A Millennials way of Traveling


Officially the season of Summer (I say as I scroll through my calendar). Can you believe it’s half over?! I ask myself why time pasts so fast, and how do I keep track of it all between two jobs, an internship, and the fast world of traveling.

I’ve traveled a lot this summer. So fun, right? I often think about white scorching sand sticking to my toes, floppy sun hats, shopping bags in each hand, and how long the battery will last on my phone. I just want to capture it all. Those moments of pure joy, scrunched eye laughter and of course, Instagram worthy food.

It’s so hard to capture it all on camera. I want to take in the real life moments, but I also want to share it with the world. The difficulty of tucking those in between moments into my heart, and wanting to capture the right candid photo of my boyfriend laughing.

My most recent trip has taught me a great lesson. How to balance my phone usage and how to balance not having a phone at all. There were hours where I scrolled to catch up on my social media feed while checking up on friends, but there were days where I left my phone inside for more than 5 hours (miracle, right).

Okay, I’ll admit I missed the convenience of my phone in one hand, but I loved having memories that I can only describe to friends. Oddly enough, it feels refreshing to step away for a bit. To be in communication with only those immediately next to me. The presence of only a few around me felt like a detox that was much needed.

The balance of phone usage during vacations are tricky, but for a millennial it’s a simple lesson that is essential to learn. 

 

Leave a Reply

